Hurricane Irma: How to register for FEMA disaster assistance

Posted at 1:07 PM, Sep 12, 2017
and last updated 2017-09-19 12:56:04-04

Florida residents impacted by Hurricane Irma may now register for FEMA assistance

RELATED | FEMA to visit Manatee County to help residents register for damage assistance after Hurricane Irma

Some Tampa Bay Area residents can apply for 'Operation Blue Roof' after Irma

If you live in one of the following counties, you can register for disaster assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency, according to state and federal officials:

  • Broward
  • Charlotte
  • Citrus
  • Clay
  • Collier
  • DeSoto
  • Duval
  • Flager
  • Glades
  • Hardee
  • Hendry
  • Hernando
  • Highlands
  • Hillsborough
  • Indian River
  • Lake
  • Lee
  • Manatee
  • Marion
  • Martin
  • Miami-Dade
  • Monroe
  • Okeechobee
  • Orange
  • Osceola
  • Pasco
  • Palm Beach
  • Pinellas
  • Polk
  • Putnam
  • Sarasota
  • Seminole
  • St. Johns
  • St. Lucie
  • Sumter
  • Volusia

Click here to enter your address to see if you qualify for aid | Fill out the to find out if you qualify for aid

You can also call 1-800-621-3362 (TTY: 1-800-462-7585)

To get help in person, find a Disaster Recovery Center near you with the Disaster Recovery Center locator

WATCH: Recovery help centers open in Tampa



Residents affected can register at or through the FEMA app.

Be prepared to give the following information:

  • Social Security Number;
  • Daytime telephone number;
  • Current mailing address and address and zip code of the damaged property; and
  • Private insurance information, if available.

Once you register, you can:

  • Look up your address to find out if it is in a disaster area declared for Individual Assistance.
  • Check the status of your application and get updates by SMS or email.
  • Upload documents to support your application.

Hurricane Irma: Polk, Pasco, Citrus, Hernando Counties not originally listed as eligible for FEMA assistance

RELATED | Hundreds of thousands experiencing power outages in Tampa Bay

VIDEOS | Hurricane Irma brings intense winds, rain to Florida

Another option for individuals, including those who use 711 relay or VRS, is to call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) while those who use TTY can call 1-800-462-7585. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. EDT seven days a week until further notice.

When you register for disaster assistance either online or by phone, you will need the following to complete your application.

  • Social Security number
  • Address of the location where the damage occured (pre-disaster address)
  • Current mailing address
  • Current telephone number
  • Insurance information
  • Total household annual income
  • Routing and account number for your checking or savings account (this allows FEMA to directly transfer disaster assistance funds into your bank account).
  • A description of your disaster-caused damage and losses

When an applicant registers, each receives a unique registration number. The registration number is important and should be written down and kept handy. Anyone who does not have a registration number is not yet registered.

Get more info from here.