NewsFlorida News


Publix to offer COVID-19 vaccine in 3 Florida counties starting on Thursday

Pilot program taking place in Marion, Citrus and Hernando Counties
COVID-19 vaccine
Posted at 3:51 PM, Jan 05, 2021
and last updated 2021-01-05 23:14:00-05

OCALA, Fla. — Starting later this week, you'll be able to get a COVID-19 vaccine at Publix stores in three Florida counties.

Calling it one of the "most exciting" announcements to come out of the coronavirus pandemic, Gov. Ron DeSantis said on Tuesday that Publix is launching a pilot program in Marion, Citrus and Hernando Counties to offer the COVID-19 vaccine to Florida residents who are 65 and older.

"Of all the things we've done, this Publix announcement is one of the most exciting because of the potential convenience for seniors, but then for the potential for this to be a major force multiplier throughout the state of Florida," DeSantis said during a news conference in Ocala.


Publix to offer COVID-19 vaccines in three Florida counties

The governor said that starting on Thursday, you'll be able to go online and make an appointment to receive a COVID-19 vaccine at nearly two dozen Publix pharmacies in the three counties.

"Not everyone wants to drive across town to go to a hospital," DeSantis said. "But if you can go to your local supermarket and have access, make an appointment."

COVID-19 Vaccine: Where people 65 and older can get vaccinated in the Tampa Bay area

The governor urged residents to be patient, saying there's not enough supply of the COVID-19 vaccine to inoculate Florida's 4.4 million residents who are 65 and older.

"We do not have 4.4 million vaccine doses sitting on the shelf right now. We probably have several hundred thousand throughout the state," DeSantis said. "If you don't get in this time, try the next day and the next day."

DeSantis added that if the pilot program is successful, he'd like to see it expand to other Publix pharmacies throughout the state.

To see a list of the participating Publix stores in Marion, Citrus and Hernando Counties, click here.