Same candidate wins 6 Iowa counties in coin flip

Posted at 7:55 AM, Feb 02, 2016

Coin tosses were apparently used to determine how six county convention delegates were assigned during the caucuses last night in Iowa. 

MORE | Dropouts, fallouts and turnout in Iowa caucuses

Ames, Des Moines, Newtown, West Branch and Davenport counties were all determined by coin toss. A coin toss can be used when manual head counts result in a tie between Hillary Clinton and Bernie Sanders supporters or other complicated discrepancies, as described by the Des Moines Register.

This video shows a "letting the coin land on the ground" tie-breaking in West Davenport.

And here's another one, in Des Moines.


Iowa Democratic Party spokesperson Sam Lau said that the flips determined county convention delegates, but those are only a fraction of the state delegates awarded to candidates. He said the coin tosses did not affect the overall result in the state.