Fall back: Daylight Saving Time ends Sunday

Posted at 9:08 AM, Oct 26, 2020
and last updated 2020-10-26 11:15:24-04

TAMPA, Fla. — Don't forget to turn your clocks back this weekend after indulging in some Halloween candy!

Daylight Saving Time ends on Sunday, November 1 at 2 a.m. Clocks will "spring forward" again on March 14, 2021 at 2 a.m.

In 2018, Florida lawmakers approved a bill to keep Florida on Daylight Saving Time permanently. But it can't be enacted without congressional approval of the Sunshine Protection Act.

Legislation to make daylights savings time permanent has also been introduced in Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas, Utah and Vermont. Similar legislation has been struck down in Idaho, Mississippi, New Mexico, Virginia, West Virginia and Wyoming.

Hawaii does not observe Daylight Saving Time, and neither does Arizona, minus the Navajo Nation in the northeastern part of the state, according to NASA. Indiana began practicing daylight saving time in 2006.

What is daylight saving time?

It was invented to make the best use of daylight hours. Benjamin Franklin created the concept of Daylight Saving Time, according to NASA, and it has been used throughout much of the U.S., Canada and Europe since World War I.

Can any state opt-out of it?

Yes, all it has to do is pass a state law.

The official start/stop dates have been amended multiple times

In 1966, former President Lyndon Johnson signed a law stating that Daylight Saving Time begins on the last Sunday of April and ends on the last Sunday in October of each year, according to NASA.

The law was amended in 1986, and Daylight Saving Time officially began on the first Sunday in April, but the end date remained the same.

Former President George W. Bush signed an energy policy bill in 2005 that would extend Daylight Saving Time by four weeks, beginning on the second Sunday of March, according to NASA, and it went into effect in 2007.

It's referred to as "summertime" in Europe

Most of Europe observe summertime, which begins on the last Sunday of March and ends on the last Sunday of October.