NewsLocal NewsI-Team Investigations


ABC Action News wins Regional Murrow Awards

Posted at 3:31 PM, May 13, 2020
and last updated 2020-05-13 17:49:10-04

TAMPA, Fla. -- ABC Action News has won a 2020 Regional Edward R. Murrow Award for continuing coverage of unexplained fires in Kia and Hyundai vehicles.

The more than two-year investigation uncovered the cause of these fires and exposed how the automakers had received early warnings of the fire hazard from a worker at its corporate headquarters. The I-Team reports led the Kia and Hyundai to issue recalls and prompted federal regulators to open inquiries. The project was led by I-Team Reporter Jackie Callaway, photographer Matt McGlashen and investigative producer Erin Smith.

WATCH: Up in Flames: Investigating the Cause of Kia and Hyundai fires

ABC Action News also won a Regional Murrow Award in the News Series category. I-Team Reporter Katie LaGrone and photographer Matthew Apthorp received the honor for a years long investigation into Florida’s controversial teacher exams. Their reports prompted major policy changes in the way the state’s teachers are certified.

The RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards are among the most prestigious in broadcast and digital news. Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of broadcast and digital journalism.

See the full list of winners: