VIRGINIA BEACH, Va. — A driver in Virginia Beach was cited a $100 ticket for smoking in a vehicle with a minor present last week.
Protect your children and keep $100 in your pocket! #NoSmoking #WeAreWatching pic.twitter.com/fH42lIfHap— VBPD Traffic Safety (@VBPDTraffic) May 8, 2018
Protect your children and keep $100 in your pocket! #NoSmoking #WeAreWatching pic.twitter.com/fH42lIfHap
Virginia Beach Police Department Traffic Safety tweeted about the incident.
§ 46.2-810.1 of the Code of Virginia says it is unlawful for a person to smoke in a motor vehicle when a minor under the age of eight is present inside, punishable by a civil penalty of $100.
FL smoking ban not so smoke free
No such statute exists in Florida. A bill was introduced in the Senate in 2016, but died in a committee.