Hurricane Irma: All Tampa Bay counties now eligible for FEMA assistance

TAMPA BAY, Fla. - All counties in Tampa Bay are now on the list of counties that are eligible for assistance from FEMA following Hurricane Irma.

According to a press release sent by FEMA on Tuesday afternoon, under the Major Disaster Declaration for Florida, only residents with damage in Broward, Charlotte, Clay, Collier, Duval, Flagler, Hillsborough, Highlands, Lee, Manatee, Miami-Dade, Monroe, Palm Beach, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, Sarasota, and St. Johns counties were eligible for Individual Assistance.

CLICK HERE to find out how to register for FEMA disaster assistance

Polk, Pasco, Citrus, Hernando and Highlands Counties were previously not listed, despite the extensive flooding and damage that Hurricane Irma caused in those areas.

ABC Action News reached out to FEMA asking about residents in the Tampa Bay counties not listed on FEMA's coverage list. Here was their response:

"FEMA, in coordination with the state of Florida, continues to assess damage to residences affected by Hurricane Irma. If you live in a county that has not been designated, call your insurance company, document any damages, and save all receipts."

The remainder of the Tampa Bay counties were added on Wednesday afternoon, according to U.S. Rep. Dennis A. Ross.

Photos: Hurricane Irma leaves damage across Tampa Bay

Print this article Back to Top