WeatherHurricaneHurricane Center

Actions

Protect yourself from price gouging

WFTS-Web-Default-Image_1280x720.png
Posted at 4:35 PM, May 22, 2010
and last updated 2017-05-12 10:29:06-04

In the wake of a natural disaster, essentials -- such as fuel, food, ice, generators, lanterns, lumber, lodging, etc. -- may be in short supply.Charging exorbitant or excessive prices for these and other necessities following a disaster is not only unethical, it's illegal.

Under sections 501.160 and 501.205 of Florida's statutes, it is illegal to charge unconscionable prices for goods or services following a declared state of emergency. Individuals or businesses found guilty of price gouging could face fines up to $1000 per violation, or up to a maximum of $25000 per day.

Report price gouging by calling the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services at 1-800-HELP-FLA (435-7352), or 1-866-966-7226, or request a price gouging complaint form be sent to you via mail.

ON THE WEB:

File a price gouging complaint online

Download Storm Shield App, www.StormShieldAlerts.com

Severe weather alerts on your smartphone

Scripps National Desk
1:24 PM, Dec 17, 2018

2021 STORM NAMES

Ana

Bill

Claudette

Danny

Elsa

Fred

Grace

Henri

Ida

Julian

Kate

Larry

Mindy

Nicholas

Odette

Peter

Rose

Sam

Teresa

Victor

Wanda

Radio Partners

HURRICANE TERMS TO KNOW

Tropical Storm WATCH: An announcement that tropical storm conditions (sustained winds of 39 to 73 mph) are possible within the specified coastal area within 48 hours.

Tropical Storm WARNING: An announcement that tropical storm conditions (sustained winds of 39 to 73 mph) are expected within the specified coastal area within 36 hours.

Hurricane WATCH: An announcement that hurricane conditions (sustained winds of 74 mph or higher) are possible somewhere within the specified coastal area. A hurricane watch is issued 48 hours in advance of the anticipated onset of tropical-storm-force winds.

Hurricane WARNING: An announcement that hurricane conditions (sustained winds of 74 mph or higher) are expected somewhere within the specified coastal area. A hurricane warning is issued 36 hours in advance of the anticipated onset of tropical-storm-force winds