President Obama declares disaster exists in Florida following Hurricane Matthew, makes aid available

Posted at 8:18 AM, Oct 09, 2016
and last updated 2016-10-09 09:48:39-04
President Obama declared a major disaster exists in the State of Florida following Hurricane Matthew. The declaration makes available federal funds to help in the recovery.
The federal funding allows state and eligible local governments, and certain private non-profit organizations, to receive money for debris removal and emergency protective measures in eight Florida counties: Brevard, Duval, Flagler, Indian River, Nassau, St. Johns, St. Lucie, and Volusia.
Funding for individual assistance or for permanent work to government buildings, roads and parks has not yet been approved.
“While we are blessed that Hurricane Matthew did not make landfall in Florida, there has been significant damage all across Florida’s east coast," said Governor Rick Scott. "I am going to continue to fight for every available resource from the federal government so our families and businesses can rebuild and get back to normal. We are going to continue to submit requests to the federal government until they fulfill our entire disaster declaration.”
FEMA Administrator W. Craig Fugate named Terry Quarles as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.
Damage surveys are currently underway in counties that do not fall under the disaster declaration. FEMA may add more counties to the disaster list and make available financial assistance after the damage assessments are fully completed.
For more information on Hurricane Matthew disaster resources visit: