Governor: Florida under State of Emergency in preparation for Hurricane Hermine

Posted at 9:38 AM, Aug 31, 2016

Governor Rick Scott has issued an executive order declaring a state of emergency in 42 counties in the state of Florida in preparation for Hurricane Hermine

RELATED | Tropical Depression Nine to impact Tampa Bay with heavy rain through Friday

The following counties are included in the state of emergency:

  • Alachua
  • Baker
  • Bay
  • Bradford
  • Brevard
  • Calhoun
  • Citrus
  • Clay
  • Columbia
  • Dixie
  • Duval
  • Flagler
  • Franklin
  • Gadsden
  • Gilchrist
  • Gulf
  • Hamilton
  • Hernando
  • Hillsborough
  • Jackson
  • Jefferson
  • Lafayette
  • Lake
  • Leon
  • Levy
  • Liberty
  • Madison
  • Marion
  • Nassau
  • Orange
  • Pasco
  • Pinellas
  • Polk
  • Putnam
  • Seminole
  • St. Johns
  • Sumter
  • Suwannee
  • Taylor
  • Union
  • Volusia
  • Wakulla

Governor Scott said:

“Last night, hurricane and tropical storm watches were issued along Florida’s Gulf Coast from Pasco County to Gulf County. We also learned that the National Hurricane Center expects Tropical Depression Nine to become a Tropical Storm sometime today. It is crucial that every Floridian has a plan in place to ensure their families, homes and businesses are fully prepared. Floridians can make their own plan at I have been closely monitoring this storm’s development and our emergency management officials have been working hard to make sure we are ready to respond to any potential impacts. By declaring a state of emergency in advance of this storm, we are ensuring that state, regional and local agencies can work together to meet the needs of our communities. We will continue to do all we can to keep our families and visitors safe and informed as this storm approaches our state.”

RELATED | Sandbag sites open in Tampa Bay area in preparation for heavy rainfall