Pinellas County school board approves later start times for most schools in district

Pinellas School Board approves later start times
Posted at 1:08 PM, Apr 10, 2018
and last updated 2018-04-10 18:40:31-04

The Pinellas County School Board has approved new start times for most of the schools in the district. 

The later start times passed 6-1 at Tuesday's meeting. 

PREVIOUS STORY | High school could start 15-20 minutes later in Pinellas County

The change will cost the district $900,000 by adding between 50 and 65 routes and the district will need to hire nearly two dozen additional school bus drivers by the 2018-2019 school year. 

High schools will now start at 7:20 a.m. (previously 7:05 a.m.). Elementary schools will now start at 8:45 a.m. (previously 8:35 a.m.) and middle schools will start at 9:40 a.m. (previously 9:30 a.m.)

Boca Ciega, Gibbs, Lakewood and Dixie Hollins High Schools will not change their current start times. 


The new start times will go into effect during the 2018-2019 school year. 

Nearly Pinellas County parents who signed a petition asking for an 8:30 high school start time are not pleased with the change, saying it will do little to help their sleep deprived teens. 

Hillsborough County School District approves new 2018-2019 bell schedule