Florida’s back-to-school sales tax holiday kicks off this weekend, August 5-7. It’s the one time a year shoppers won’t pay sales tax, up to a certain amount, on clothes or school supplies.
This year’s sales tax holiday will be different from years past. If parents aren’t paying attention, many will be caught off guard at the register.
The three big changes for the 2016 sales tax holiday:
- The holiday is 3-days, versus 10-days in 2015
- Legislators eliminated computers from the tax break
- The value of clothes purchased has been reduced from $100 to $60
The sales tax holiday begins at 12:01am Friday, August 5 and runs until 11:59pm Sunday, August 7. During that period, Florida law directs that no sales tax or local option tax will be collected on the purchase of clothing, footwear, and certain accessories selling for $60 or less per item. It also gives sales tax breaks on certain school supplies selling for $15 or less per item.
Examples of exempt school supply items:
Notebook filler paper
Examples of exempt clothing items:
Accessories (barrettes, bobby pins, hair bows and clips, neckwear, ponytail holders, scarves)