Report: Some songs on Michael Jackson album are fake, Sony admits in court

Music label says it was duped, reports say
Posted at 12:24 PM, Aug 24, 2018

Music label Sony says it was duped after admitting three songs on a Michael Jackson album it released after his death are fake.

The songs were on Sony's album "Michael," which was released in 2010 and is said to have previously unreleased tracks by the famed music artist. According to reports by Fortune, Vibe and other music news outlets, the music label made the admission in a court hearing.

The three songs are  “Breaking News”, “Monster” and “Keep Your Head Up." Producers Eddie Cascio and James Porte claimed the songs included Jackson's vocals.

The album was released by Epic Records, which hasn't commented on the issue, Fortune reports.

The lawsuit which led to the court hearing in which Sony made the admission was filed by fans who said they knew the songs were fake. The longtime fans filed the lawsuit against Jackson's friends and production company. 

Read the official complaint here.

Jackson's friends and family also questioned whether the vocals were his, Fortune reports.

It is not yet determined whether the fans or Jackson's estate will be awarded anything or Sony will be punished as a result of the court case.