Sapp joins six others, elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame

Warren Sapp has one of the all-time biggest personalities of anyone who ever wore an NFL jersey.  He'll now be remembered in a place that honors the all-time best players who ever wore one as well.

Sapp was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday in New Orleans, joining six others as part of the 2013 class. One coach and six players make up the class: Bill Parcells, Sapp, Cris Carter, Jonathan Ogden, Larry Allen, Curley Culp and Dave Robinson (Culp and Robinson were senior selections).

Sapp was the 12th overall pick by the Bucs in the 1995 draft, and played his first nine seasons in Tampa Bay, before finishing his career with four seasons in Oakland.  He was part of the Bucs' one and only Super Bowl win, ten years ago, in Super Bowl XXXVII over the Raiders. He was also a seven-time Pro Bowler, six-time All-Pro (four 1st team, and two 2nd team), and holds the franchise record for sacks in a season (16.5 in 2000) and for a career (96.5, which ranks 2nd in NFL history for an interior lineman). He was the 1999 NFL Defensive Player of the Year, and was voted to both the NFL's 1990s and 2000s All-Decade Teams.

In a statement released by the team, Buccaneers Co-Chairman Bryan Glazer said, "This is a proud day for the Buccaneers organization and Bucs fans everywhere. Warren played the game with incredible ability and passion. He was a leader on one of the best defenses in NFL history and helped to redefine the defensive tackle position. It is a fitting honor that he will be recognized as one of the greatest to ever play, and we could not be happier for him."

Sapp will be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio on August 3, joining the late Lee Roy Selmon as the only to enshrined players who played the majority of their careers with the Buccaneers.

Print this article Back to Top