FHP campaign raises awareness, warns drivers about hit-and-run laws, consequences

TAMPA - Starting today, the Florida Highway Patrol is taking aggressive steps to reduce the number of hit and run accidents.

Last year in Hillsborough County, there were 3,730 cases reported, and 70,000 reported state-wide.

So FHP is announcing their Hit and Run Traffic Awareness Campaign, running from Feb. 18 to Feb. 22.

They're warning anyone who gets involved in a crash to stay behind to either share insurance information or render aid if need be.

They're also going to be giving information for anyone who finds themselves a victim in a hit-and-run crash.

The Florida Highway Patrol will host a press conference today at 10:00 a.m. at the Florida Highway Patrol Troop C Headquarters located at 11305, North McKinley Drive, Tampa, Fla. 33612.  

The following is listed by FHP as the responsibilities of a driver in a traffic crash:  

The driver must immediately stop and remain at the scene

 Must exchange information

 Render reasonable assistance to any injured persons

Consequences:

 The consequence of leaving the scene of a crash involving a death is a felony of the first degree.

A felony of the first degree carries a maximum penalty of 30 years in a state correction facility,

and a fine up to $10,000.

 The consequence of leaving the scene of a crash involving injuries is a felony of the third degree.

A felony of the third degree carries a maximum penalty of 5 years in a state correction facility

and a fine up to $5000.

 The consequence of leaving the scene of a crash involving property damage is a misdemeanor of

the 2nd degree. A misdemeanor of the 2nd degree carries a maximum penalty of 60 days in a

county jail and up to a $500 fine.

The Florida Highway Patrol would like to remind everyone that *FHP (*347) dialed from any cell

phone contacts FHP should you need to report a hit and run or aggressive driver.

 

Print this article Back to Top

Comments