Names of fallen St. Pete officers added to plaque

ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. - Three fallen St. Petersburg Police Officers were honored Wednesday.

Sgt. Thomas Baitinger, Officer Jeffrey Yaslowitz, and Officer David Crawford are now the 13th, 14th, and 15th names on the police memorial.

Dozens of officers and members of the St. Petersburg Police Department watched as the names of the officers were revealed.

The last officer to die in the line of duty was in 1980.

The widow of Officer Crawford was the only family member in the crowd. After the ceremony, she walked up to see the plaque, but started to cry and then quickly left.

After the ceremony, the three officers were honored along with Pinellas County Deputies that were killed in the line of duty.

Twenty-three law enforcement officers have died in Pinellas County since 1905.

The ceremony organized by the sheriff's office was attended by the Yaslowitz family, and Donna Crawford.

Widow, Lorraine Yaslowitz, said, "It's bittersweet. A wonderful honor, but not the name I want to see on there."

Print this article Back to Top